FOAM, Wysing Arts Centre, Cambridge, UK

Installation and presentation of the dub plate record archive at Wysing Arts Centre, Cambridge.

foam is a peripatetic project by artist Mat Jenner. Conceived as both an experimental platform for commissioning and an expanded art work, foam presents selected artists through a series of commissions, events and published materials.

At the heart of foam is a growing archive of commissioned dub plates, one-off, 12” records. The archive is available for exhibition, as an artwork, along with the accompanying constituent parts of the installation. Exhibition of the archive is strictly within its conceptual parameters.

Records are unique, they can only be listened to in situ within a physical location and are not broadcasted or digitally disseminated. Direct audience interaction in selecting and playing works is needed to make a work audible.

Selected artists have been asked to respond to these parameters in the form of a one-off record for insertion into the collective body of the archive. There are no digital audio pieces available on this site. A complete index of the artists participating in foam and the available works currently within the archive can be found on this website along with details of live events and exhibitions where the archive can be accessed.

foam is a non for profit endeavour and entirely self funded through fundraising and sales of limited edition artworks . These initiatives support on-going artistic activity and commissioning.

Agata Madejska, Alice Theobald, Alistair McClymont, Anna Barham, Anne Hardy, Asterism, Aura Satz, Benedict Drew, Berry Patten, Bevis Martin & Charlie Youle, Brian Moran, Bronwen Buckeridge, Cally Spooner & Peter Joslyn, Candice Jacobs, Cécile B Evans, Charlie Woolley, Charlotte Prodger, Christopher Kulendran Thomas, Chris Rawcliffe & Andrew Bunsell, C Butler & K Immervoll & S Lee, Daniel Keller, David Raymond Conroy, Dawn Scarfe, Diana Policarpo, Erica Scourti, Fay Nicholson, Gandt, Giorgio Sadotti, Hannah Black, Hanna Schwarz, Haroon Mirza, Hayal Pozanti, Holly Slingsby, Ian Whittlesea, Jaakko Pallasvuo, Jack Brindley, Jack Stokoe, James Prevett, Jess Flood Paddock, Jesse Darling, Jimmy Merris, Joey Holder, John Lawrence, Juneau Projects, Kevin Clarke, Kirsty Harris, Koudlam, Larry Achiampong, Lars TCF Holdhus, Lucy Clout, Lumpen Nobleman, Maria Theodoraki, Marie D'Elbee, Mark Dean, Mark Vernon, Mary Hurrell, Matt Golden, Matthew Noel Tod, M Harte & E Rodgers & J Shovlin, Mikhail Karikis, Naive Set & Marijn van Kreij, Neil Taylor, Nicole Bachmann, Nicholas Mohanna, Nina Wakeford, Octagon Court, Olivier Castel, Oliver Sutherland, Patrick Coyle, Patrick Staff, Paul Purgas, Philomene Pirecki, Picana Electrica, Piotr Łakomy & Filip Kaniecki, Pil and Galia Kollectiv, Plastique Fantastique, Prem Sahib & Richard Lockett, Rachel Cattle & Steve Richards, Rebecca Lennon, Richard John Jones, Richard Bevan, Richard Sides, Rob Chavasse, Rob Lye, Rowena Harris, Ruth Barker, Salvatore Arancio, Sam Belinfante, Sarah Jones, Seb Patane, Skye Chamberlain & Max McFerren, Sophie Michael, Squares and Triangles, Steven Dickie, Stewart Home, Stuart Bannister, Tamarin Norwood, Tellervo Kalleinen, Thrape, Tim Pratt, Will Holder, Yuri Pattison

August 30, 2014